Logger’s Run Raid

Share your memories of working at Marriott's GREAT AMERICA in Santa Clara
segerken
Gulf Coaster

Logger’s Run Raid

Post by segerken »

I was an operator during the 2nd shift on the Santa Clara Logger’s Run part of of the summers of ‘78, ‘79, and ‘’80. During the summer of ‘’79 our ride was raided by the park security.

There is a stream under the queue just before the queue went down the stairs into the station. While people wait in line they sometimes threw change into the stream. The money is suppose to go to employee relations to help fund the employee parties. But, that is not where it actually went. After the park closed each night we would scoop up and pocket the change as we were picking up the trash on the banks of the stream. We are not talking big money. We are talking maybe $1.00 on a very good night.

Well, one day we got a new lead. On her first night as lead one of the mechanics came into the station about an hour before the park closed and told her to leave the money in the stream. Well, we decided to hell with that. We knew he told her that so that he could get the money after we were gone and we were not going to let him get it. So, we continued taking the money out of the stream.