Graduation/Senior Night at SFGAm

General discussion about Marriott's GREAT AMERICA
GreatAmerica4ever
Yankee Clipper

Graduation/Senior Night at SFGAm

Post by GreatAmerica4ever »

I remember when Gurnee had a special annual night for seniors of high school graduation classes at the park. I remember that they were held on Friday nights in June.

I graduated in 1987 and I remember that they cancelled that year and every year since. My friends and I were very disappointed about this at the time!

Does anyone know the exact reasoning for the cancelations? Did Marriott ever have a Senior Night, too?

Thanks!
Stealthguy05
Gulf Coaster

Post by Stealthguy05 »

Well Last year GAm Had Had One and many years before that during the old Paramount era. Post Paramount? I Dono.

(GAm=Santa Clara SFGAm=Gurnee)
Glorfindel7
Tidal Wave

Post by Glorfindel7 »

I think there was a gang related incident in 1987 that led to shots being fired between two students from different high schools.

However I don't know if that was the official reason they called off the Senior night.
customfabricators
Gulf Coaster

Post by customfabricators »

Senior Night ended because of the extreme misbehavior of the clientele in the park those nights. Sex, drugs, alcohol, shoplifting, linejumping, rudeness, vandalisim were all problems.
RLAiello
Tidal Wave

Post by RLAiello »

Yeah that's the story I heard when I started working there in '88, and the basic gist was that the park management didn't want to host another Grad Night event again after the shooting incident.

Apparently the shooting occurred in the parking lot and nobody was injured. That's what I had heard.

Anyone have any specific information to add?
Rick Aiello
SFGAm Employee 1988-1999
BillK
Gulf Coaster

Post by BillK »

I remember my Grad Night, in 1984.